What's new
AllBuffs | Unofficial fan site for the University of Colorado at Boulder Athletics programs

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

  • Prime Time. Prime Time. Its a new era for Colorado football. Consider signing up for a club membership! For $20/year, you can get access to all the special features at Allbuffs, including club member only forums, dark mode, avatars and best of all no ads ! But seriously, please sign up so that we can pay the bills. No one earns money here, and we can use your $20 to keep this hellhole running. You can sign up for a club membership by navigating to your account in the upper right and clicking on "Account Upgrades". Make it happen!

Three (actually 4) Buffs Honored by Sportswomen of Colorado


News Junkie
Colorado Sportswomen

DENVER – Sportswomen of Colorado (SWOC) selected three University of Colorado student-athletes as part of the organization's 49th annual SWOC Awards on Tuesday.

NVER – Sportswomen of Colorado (SWOC) selected three University of Colorado student-athletes as part of the organization's 49th annual SWOC Awards on Tuesday.

Mya Hollingshed (basketball), Micaela DeGenero (Track & Field) and Civana Kuhlmann (Soccer) each were selected as the Collegiate Sportswomen of Colorado for their respective sports.

The women, coaches and organizations are being recognized for their outstanding sports achievements during 2022. The honor is a true testament to their incredible talent and dedication.

Hollingshed earned her second WBCA honorable mention All-America selection, along with her Pac-12 All-Conference accolades in 2022. She averaged a double-double in CU's three games in the 2022 Pac-12 Tournament and helped the Buffs to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2013. Hollingshed wrapped up her Colorado career by leading the Buffs in points (14.1), field goals made (5.2), 3-point field goals made (1.7), rebounding (7.4) and blocks (1.0) in 2021-22. She was the only player in the Pac-12 to lead her team in points, rebounds and 3-point field goals last season. At the conclusion of the season, Hollginshed was selected No. 8 overall in the WNBA Draft by the Las Vegas Aces.

DeGenero started off 2022 on the highest of notes, winning the NCAA Mile National Championship in 4:33.92. She was in last with 400 meters to go before blasting to the front and never looking back. Moving to outdoors, DeGenero won the 1,500-meter Pac-12 Championship and finished third in the 800-meter run just minutes later. She qualified for the NCAA Championship 1,500-meter finals where she finished second overall. DeGenero then raced in the USA Track and Field Championships in the 1,500-meter run, finishing 18th overall and just missing out on the finals. DeGenero finished her CU career being named a CoSIDA Academic All-American First Team member.

Kuhlmann returned to Colorado in 2022, transferring to the Buffaloes from Stanford. The Centennial, Colo., native posted career-highs in points (30), goals (12) and assists (6) in her lone season at CU. She led the team in all three categories and totaled two game-winning goals. Her 12 goals tied for the second-most in a season by a Buff, alongside Taylor Kornieck (2019), Jorian Baucom (2018) and Katie Griffin (2005). Kulmann's 30 points finished second in the Pac-12 and ranked 22nd in the NCAA, helping her to First Team All-Pac-12 and First Team All-Pacific Region selections. She was also honored as a Third Team Academic All-American. Kuhlmann was selected in the fourth round of the 2023 NWSL Draft, going to the Washington Spirit.

Former Buff Allie McLaughlin also was named to the Mountain Running division after winning the 2022 World Uphill Trail Championship in Thailand.

The notable recipients at this year's award celebration to be held on Sunday, March 12, 2023, at the Hyatt Regency Denver Tech Center, include ....

A highlight of the evening will be the surprise presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year Award to Colorado's most outstanding athlete based on her 2022 achievements. More banquet information can be found at https://sportswomenofcolorado.org/awardscelebration/.
Continue reading...
Last edited by a moderator:
Big congrats to the 4 now #ForeverBuffs (Ms's. DeGenero, Hollingshed, Kuhlmann and McLaughlin) for the well-earned honors!
Last edited: